Sustainability Researchers

Many UNC Asheville faculty members and students take an active interest in sustainability questions and solutions. Take a look at what our faculty and students are doing!

Applied Sustainability

UNC Asheville’s National Environmental Modeling and Analysis Center (NEMAC), established in November 2003, is a center of the University and specializes in science communication and the development of decision support tools for local and regional planners, decision makers, and the public.

NEMAC helps people understand the relevance and importance of complex issues such as climate and weather, forest health, natural hazards, land use planning, and the efficient use of our energy and water resources. Our tools, developed with the assistance of UNC Asheville undergraduate research students, include web applications, interactive geographic information system (GIS) applications, multimedia delivery technologies, and print media. NEMAC and its many partnerships bring students, scientific professionals, and local decision makers together to help solve problems facing our society. NEMAC supports its applied research through mechanisms such as contracts, agreements, and grants with our various partners, including federal agencies; city, county, and state governments; and local entrepreneurs.

The McCullough Program at UNC Asheville facilitates applied undergraduate research projects in collaboration with a faculty advisor and local partner organization. To learn more about this research, visit the McCullough Institute past fellows webpage.

Faculty Researchers


Heidi Kelley, John Wood Caitlin Meagher, Paige Ambord, Blu Buchanan


Carrie Tomberlin, Eric Tomberlin, Jackson Martin

Art History

Eva Bares, Leisa Rundquist

Atmospheric Science

Chris Hennon, Doug Miller, Caitlin Crossett


David Clarke, Rebecca Hale, Jonathan Horton, Christopher Nicolay, Jennifer Rhode Ward,

Graham Reynolds


Oksana Love, Sally Wasileski, Amanda Wolfe,Jeromy Rech, Pin Lyu,

Jason Schmeltzer, Philip Shivokevich


Lora Holland, Jake Butera

Computer Science

Marietta Cameron, Susan Reiser, Adam Whitley


Robert Bowen, Lise Kloppel, Casey Watkins


Kathleen Lawlor, Leah Mathews, Muhammad Newaz, Jonathan Brown, Melissa Mahoney


Erica Abrams-Lockyear, Kirk Boyle, Mildred Barya, Wiley Cash, Rachel Hanson, Leslee Johnson, William Revere, Angela Du 

Environmental Studies

David Gillette, Andrew Laughlin, Landon Ward, Jeff Wilcox, Brittani McNamee, Jackie Langille, Irene Rossell, Jake Hagedorn, Dee Eggers, Catherine King, Ashley Case

Health and Wellness

Aubrianne Rote, Aubrey Mast, Ameena Batada,Fabrice Julien, Margaret Steele, Linnea Carlson


Daniel Pierce, Sarah Judson 

Interdisciplinary Studies

Trey Adcock, Amanda Wray

Joint Mechatronics (JME)

Moorthy Muthukrishnan


Jeff Shields

Mass Communication

Sonya DiPalma, Laura Meadows, Anne Slatton


Steven Patch, Becky Sanft, Rudy Beharrysingh, Sam Kaplan


Bill Bares, Toby King


Patrick Foo

New Media

 Victoria Bradbury


Grace Campbell


James Perkins, Don Nichols, Chandra Joshi, Christian Kerpal


Mark Harvey, Patrick Foo