Sustainability Research

Many UNC Asheville faculty members and students take an active interest in sustainability questions and solutions. Take a look at what our faculty and students are doing!

Applied Sustainability

UNC Asheville’s National Environmental Modeling and Analysis Center (NEMAC), established in November 2003, is a center of the University and specializes in science communication and the development of decision support tools for local and regional planners, decision makers, and the public.

NEMAC helps people understand the relevance and importance of complex issues such as climate and weather, forest health, natural hazards, land use planning, and the efficient use of our energy and water resources. Our tools, developed with the assistance of UNC Asheville undergraduate research students, include web applications, interactive geographic information system (GIS) applications, multimedia delivery technologies, and print media. NEMAC and its many partnerships bring students, scientific professionals, and local decision makers together to help solve problems facing our society. NEMAC supports its applied research through mechanisms such as contracts, agreements, and grants with our various partners, including federal agencies; city, county, and state governments; and local entrepreneurs.

The McCullough Program at UNC Asheville facilitates applied undergraduate research projects in collaboration with a faculty advisor and local partner organization. To learn more about this research, visit the McCullough Institute past fellows webpage.

Faculty Researchers


Heidi Kelley, John Wood


Virginia Derryberry, Carrie Tomberlin, Eric Tomberlin

Art History

Eva Bares, Leisa Rundquist

Atmospheric Science

Nina Hall, Chris Hennon, Doug Miller


David Clarke, Rebecca Hale, Jonathan Horton, Christopher Nicolay, Jennifer Rhode Ward


John Brock, George Heard, Bert Holmes, Oksana Love, Sally Wasileski, Amanda Wolfe


Lora Holland

Computer Science

Marietta Cameron, Susan Reiser, Adam Whitley


Robert Bowen, Lise Kloppel


Kathleen Lawlor, Leah Mathews


Erica Abrams-Lockyear

Environmental Studies

David Gillette, Jeff Wilcox, Irene Rossell, Jake Hagedorn

Health and Wellness

Aubrianne Rote, Aubrey Mast, Ameena Batada, Amy Lanou


Daniel Pierce

Joint Mechatronics (JME)

Moorthy Muthukrishnan


Jeff Shields

Mass Communication

Sonya DiPalma


Steven Patch


Bill Bares, Toby King


Patrick Foo

New Media

Lei Han


James Perkins


Darren Bernal, Mark Harvey, Melissa Himelein